MarBEF Data System

ERMS source details

Pérez Farfante, I.; Kensley, B. (1997). Penaeoid and sergestoid shrimps and prawns of the world. Keys and diagnoses for the families and genera. Mémoires du Muséum National d'Histoire naturelle. 175: 1-233.
Pérez Farfante, I.; Kensley, B.
Penaeoid and sergestoid shrimps and prawns of the world. Keys and diagnoses for the families and genera
Mémoires du Muséum National d’Histoire naturelle
175: 1-233
Available for editors  PDF available
Keys for the determination of seven families, and 56 genera of Penaeoidean and Sergestoidean shrimps are provided, along with diagnoses of these taxa. The Penaeoidean families are: Aristeidae, Benthesicymidae, Penaeidae, Sicyoniidae, and Solenoceridae; the Sergestoidean families are: Luciferidae and Sergestidae. Three new genera are diagnosed: Austropenaeus gen. novo (family Aristeidae), Megokris gen. novo and Rimapenaeus gen. novo (family Penaeidae). Pelagopenaeus, (family Penaeidae), a name originally proposed by BURKENROAD(1934), is given nomenclatural availability. The earlier names Aristaeopsis Wood-Mason, 1891 (family Aristeidae) and Trachysalambria Burkenroad, 1934 (family Penaeidae) are resurrected. The subgenera Farfantepenaeus, Fenneropenaeus, Litopenaeus, Marsupenaeus, and Melicertus are raised to full genera. In addition to diagnoses for the families and genera, a section on synonymy for each taxon includes references that have contributed to our understanding of the taxa. For each genus, a list of its currently recognized species and subspecies, along with author and date of publication, and distributional records is given. These lists include about 500 species. A reference is provided in the bibliography for every author and date mentioned in the text. An illustrated glossary explains the terms used in the diagnoses. At least one species of each genus (often the type species) is illustrated, along with figures of diagnostic features such as the petasma, thelycum, and seminal receptacles.
Systematics, Taxonomy
RIS (EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite, RefWorks)
BibTex (BibDesk, LaTeX)
2013-01-12 18:30:12Z
2016-07-05 10:21:57Z
2019-07-12 09:23:42Z

Aristaeomorpha Wood-Mason in Wood-Mason & Alcock, 1891 (basis of record)
Aristaeomorpha foliacea (Risso, 1827) (additional source)
Aristaeopsis edwardsiana (Johnson, 1868) (additional source)
Aristeus Duvernoy, 1840 (additional source)
Aristeus antennatus (Risso, 1816) (additional source)
Bentheogennema intermedia (Spence Bate, 1888) (additional source)
Benthesicymus bartletti Smith, 1882 accepted as Benthoecetes bartletti (Smith, 1882) (additional source)
Benthesicymus brasiliensis Spence Bate, 1881 accepted as Bathicaris brasiliensis (Spence Bate, 1881) (additional source)
Benthesicymus iridescens Spence Bate, 1881 accepted as Bathicaris iridescens (Spence Bate, 1881) (additional source)
Benthesicymus laciniatus Rathbun, 1906 (additional source)
Benthonectes filipes Smith, 1885 (additional source)
Funchalia Johnson, 1868 (additional source)
Funchalia danae Burkenroad, 1940 (additional source)
Funchalia villosa (Bouvier, 1905) (additional source)
Funchalia woodwardi Johnson, 1868 (additional source)
Gennadas brevirostris Bouvier, 1905 (additional source)
Gennadas capensis Calman, 1925 (additional source)
Gennadas elegans (Smith, 1882) accepted as Amalopenaeus elegans Smith, 1882 (additional source)
Gennadas scutatus Bouvier, 1906 (additional source)
Gennadas tinayrei Bouvier, 1906 (additional source)
Gennadas valens (Smith, 1884) (additional source)
Hepomadus tener Smith, 1884 (additional source)
Hymenopenaeus aphoticus Burkenroad, 1936 (additional source)
Hymenopenaeus chacei Crosnier & Forest, 1969 (additional source)
Hymenopenaeus debilis Smith, 1882 (additional source)
Lucifer Thompson, 1829 (additional source)
Lucifer hanseni Nobili, 1906 accepted as Belzebub hanseni (Nobili, 1906) (additional source)
Lucifer typus H. Milne Edwards, 1837 (additional source)
Marsupenaeus japonicus (Spence Bate, 1888) accepted as Penaeus japonicus Spence Bate, 1888 (additional source)
Melicertus Rafinesque, 1814 accepted as Penaeus Fabricius, 1798 (additional source)
Melicertus hathor (Burkenroad, 1959) accepted as Penaeus hathor Burkenroad, 1959 (additional source)
Melicertus kerathurus (Forskål, 1775) accepted as Penaeus kerathurus (Forskål, 1775) (additional source)
Melicertus tigrinus Rafinesque, 1814 accepted as Penaeus kerathurus (Forskål, 1775) (basis of record)
Metapenaeopsis aegyptia Galil & Golani, 1990 (additional source)
Metapenaeopsis mogiensis consobrina (Nobili, 1904) (additional source)
Metapenaeopsis mogiensis mogiensis (Rathbun, 1902) (basis of record)
Metapenaeus affinis (H. Milne Edwards, 1837) (additional source)
Metapenaeus monoceros (Fabricius, 1798) (additional source)
Metapenaeus stebbingi Nobili, 1904 (additional source)
Parapenaeus longirostris (Lucas, 1846) (additional source)
Pelagopenaeus Pérez Farfante & Kensley, 1997 (original description)
Pelagopenaeus balboae (Faxon, 1893) (additional source)
Penaeopsis serrata Spence Bate, 1881 (additional source)
Penaeus semisulcatus De Haan, 1844 (additional source)
Petalidium obesum (Krøyer, 1855) (additional source)
Plesiopenaeus armatus (Spence Bate, 1881) accepted as Cerataspis monstrosus Gray, 1828 (additional source)
Sergestes H. Milne Edwards, 1830 (additional source)
Sergestes arachnipodus (Cocco, 1832) accepted as Eusergestes arcticus (Krøyer, 1855) (additional source)
Sergestes arcticus Krøyer, 1855 accepted as Eusergestes arcticus (Krøyer, 1855) (additional source)
Sergestes armatus Krøyer, 1855 accepted as Parasergestes armatus (Krøyer, 1855) (additional source)
Sergestes atlanticus H. Milne Edwards, 1830 (additional source)
Sergestes cornutus Krøyer, 1855 accepted as Cornutosergestes cornutus (Krøyer, 1855) (additional source)
Sergestes nudus Illig, 1914 accepted as Allosergestes nudus (Illig, 1914) (additional source)
Sergestes pectinatus Sund, 1920 accepted as Allosergestes pectinatus (Sund, 1920) (additional source)
Sergestes sargassi Ortmann, 1893 accepted as Allosergestes sargassi (Ortmann, 1893) (additional source)
Sergestes vigilax Stimpson, 1860 accepted as Parasergestes vigilax (Stimpson, 1860) (additional source)
Sergia grandis (Sund, 1920) accepted as Phorcosergia grandis (Sund, 1920) (additional source)
Sergia japonica (Spence Bate, 1881) accepted as Sergia remipes Stimpson, 1860 (additional source)
Sergia remipes Stimpson, 1860 (basis of record)
Sergia robusta (Smith, 1882) accepted as Robustosergia robusta (Smith, 1882) (additional source)
Sergia splendens (Sund, 1920) accepted as Gardinerosergia splendens (Sund, 1920) (additional source)
Sergia tenuiremis (Krøyer, 1855) (additional source)
Sicyonia H. Milne Edwards, 1830 (additional source)
Sicyonia carinata (Brünnich, 1768) (additional source)
Solenocera Lucas, 1849 (additional source)
Solenocera africana Stebbing, 1917 (additional source)
Solenocera crassicornis (H. Milne Edwards, 1837) (additional source)
Solenocera membranacea (Risso, 1816) (additional source)
Trachysalambria Burkenroad, 1934 (additional source)
Trachysalambria curvirostris (Stimpson, 1860) (additional source)
Web site hosted and maintained by Flanders Marine Institute (VLIZ) - Contact
page generated: 2023-06-07 22:17:22 GMT+1